Astrogeology Science Center

New Satellite Names Approved

29 March 2007

Thirteen names for saturnian sateliites (Aegir, Bebhionn, Bergelmir, Bestla, Farbauti, Fenrir, Fornjot, Hati, Hyrokkin, Kari, Loge, Skoll, and Surtur) and one name for a jovian satellite (Kore) have been approved by the IAU WGPSN. For more information, see the page that describes Planet and Satellite Names in the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature.