Astrogeology Science Center

Nineteen New Names Approved for Earths Moon

22 January 2009

The names Aepinus, Bosch, Erlanger, Fibiger, Florey, Gore, Grignard, Haber, Hevesy, Haskin, Houssay, Ibn Bajja, Kocher, Kuhn, Laveran, Nefed'ev, Svedberg, von Baeyer, and Wapowski have been approved for craters in the north and south polar regions of the Moon. For more information, see the list of Moon crater names in the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature.