Seven New Names Approved for Pluto: One Planitia, Two Valles, Two Craters, and Two Colles

3 June 2022

The IAU Working Group for Planetary System Nomenclature has approved seven names for features on Pluto: Rosetta PlanitiaLemminkäinen VallisVäinämöinen Vallis, Kowal, Coradini, Challenger Colles, and Columbia Colles. For more information, please see the Pluto map in the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature.