Astrogeology Science Center

Fifteen Lacus Names Approved for Titan

11 June 2017

The IAU Working Group for Planetary System Nomenclature has approved names for fifteen features on Titan: Mweru Lacus, Taupo Lacus, Prespa Lacus, Van Lacus, Ypoa Lacus, Suwa Lacus, Rukwa Lacus, Ihotry Lacus, Viedma Lacus, Phewa Lacus, Rannoch Lacus, Chilwa Lacus, Muzhwi Lacus, Maracaibo Lacus, and Negra Lacus. For more information, see the Titan north pole map in the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature.